Last Updated: December 24th, 2020
Welcome to ohyay!
With ohyay, you have the power to create any virtual space that you can imagine — from music festivals and interactive museums to family reunions and themed escape rooms. Whether you want to make instant friends by leveling up your virtual holiday party, or dream up a fantasy world that’s far from reality — it’s all possible with ohyay studio.
Before you start using our services, we - Pine Labs LCC - want to make sure you’re up to speed with how we use, collect, and disclose your information, and let you know what your rights are. Different laws apply, depending on where you live, that’s why this policy also includes specific sections for users in California and Europe.
Information we collect
The information we collect can be divided into the following groups, (1) information you provide to us, (2) information we collect when you use our services, and (3) information that others may provide to us.
Information you provide
Here’s an overview of information you may provide to us:
- Registration. All you need to create an account with ohyay is an email address. Once you’ve created an account, you may provide us with some additional information such as your name or emoji avatar. 👩💻
- Communications. If you use the chat functionality, we may receive information you send to users. This data is deleted from our servers after 24 hours. 💬
- Spaces. If you are a creator, you may create spaces, when creating these we collect the information you add to your space, such as a wallpaper, audio, video and other creative tools and assets. 👨🎨
- Support. If you reach out to our support team we will collect the information you provide in your support email. 👩⚕️
Information you provide when using our services
When using our services, we keep the collection of information to a minimum, and we don’t retain the raw data of the audio or video streams. We’re just here to route them for you. Here’s some information we do collect:
- Screenshots and screen recordings. If you or one of the members in a conversation uses a photo booth or records a room, we will keep that information on our servers for 30 days. Don’t worry, there will be some visual cues before a screenshot 📸 or recording 📹 starts. Note: users with administrator rights have the ability to download files and may store the data beyond our 30 day retention term.
- Usage data. We collect some information about how you use ohyay.co such as when you last logged into ohyay, the spaces you’ve interacted with, and when you’ve created spaces. 📈
- Screen share. If you enable screen share other members in your space will be able to see the information you decide to share on your screen. To enable screen share, you may need to first update the privacy and security settings of your browser and/or operating system. We do not store screen share sessions unless the room is being recorded. 🖥
- Interactive tools. If you use some of the interactive tools, such as polls 🗳 and question boards 💌 we will collect the information provided in those polls and question boards. We only keep this information for 7 days. As noted above, chats are only kept for 24 hours.
Information others may provide to us
When users use our services they may share information about other users with us, for example when sending us a support ticket, creating a space or in chat.
How we use your information
Simply put, we use your information to provide you with the best possible ohyay experience. To do this, we use your information to:
- Develop, operate, improve, deliver, maintain and protect our services 🎛 ;
- Perform analytics on how and when users use ohyay to help us further develop and improve our services👩🔬 ;
- Review crash reports so we can see what went wrong, and improve your ohyay experience the next time you use it🔬 ; and
- Communicate with you when you have questions or recommendations 📩 .
For users in the EU, the legal basis for processing your information is the necessity of the contract.
How we may share your information
When you use ohyay we may share your information following ways:
- With other users. When you use our services we may display your alias and avatar, and when you grant permission to your camera and microphone, other users will also be able to see and hear you. 👫 Note: Other users may take a screenshot or screen recording and share it with others, so be careful with what you share and who you share it with.
- With service providers. We may share your information with our service providers, such as analytics, hosting and storage providers. 🗂 The service providers we use are Google (storage, hosting, authentication and analytics), Amplitude (data analytics) and Sentry (crash reporting).
- With third parties for legal reasons. In some cases we may need to share your information to comply with a valid legal process, government request, applicable law, to investigate a violation of our terms, to protect the rights, property, and safety of us, our users, or others, and/or to detect and resolve fraud and safety concerns. 👩💼
How long we keep your information
We do our best to keep your information as short as possible. Your basic profile information will we stored as long as you are a registered user, but other information is stored for shorter periods of time. For example, we do not store the raw audio or video of calls, chats are deleted after 24 hours, polls and question boards are deleted after 7 days, and screenshots and screen recordings are deleted after 30 days. If you want to delete your account or other information, please contact us 🗑
We respect the privacy rights of all our users, that’s why the rights under California and European privacy law are available to all our users. Here’s a list of your rights:
- Data access right. You have the right to receive a copy of the data we collect from you. You can request a copy of your data by contacting: email@example.com. 🧾
- Right to know the information we collect. You have the right to request details on specific information we collect about you. All of this information is described in this policy, but don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions. 📝
- Right to correct your information. You have the right to correct your information. For example, if you want to update your alias or profile picture. 🖍
- Right to know who we share your information with. You have the right to know who we are sharing your information with. This information is also included in this policy in the section ‘how we share your information’. 📟
- Right to deletion. You have the right to delete your data, you can do this by contacting us. 🗑
- Right to object. You have the right to object to the use of your information. ⛔️
- Right to a timely response. You have the right to receive a response within 30-45 days, we usually respond a lot quicker. ⏳
- Non-discrimination. It goes without saying, but we will not hold it against you when you exercise any of your rights. In fact, we encourage you to review your privacy settings closely and reach out to us with your questions. ❤️
For users in California: we don’t sell your data. 🚫
Our services are not intended for—and we don’t direct them to—anyone under 13. And that’s why we do not knowingly collect personal information from anyone under 13. 🎂